Cabaret Voltaire - Methodology 74/75 Attic Tapes - Limited Edition 7 x Clear Vinyl Box Set (Signed)

Cabaret Voltaire - Methodology 74/75 Attic Tapes - Limited Edition 7 x Clear Vinyl Box Set (Signed)

£130.00 was

Catalogue Number: CABS17
Release Date: 6th December 2019

  • 7 x clear vinyl box set
  • Includes art print, designed and signed by Richard H Kirk
  • Limited to 500 copies worldwide
  • High definition audio download

"METHODOLOGY '74-'78. Attic Tapes" vinyl box set charts the development of Cabaret Voltaire, starting from their early experimental period of '74/'75. Included on the release are the original recordings of classics such as 'Nag Nag Nag', 'No Escape', 'The Set Up', 'Baader Meinhof', 'Here She Comes Now' and 'Do The Mussolini (Headkick)', all later re-recorded with new equipment and released by Rough Trade in the late '70s.

Cabaret Voltaire were at the forefront of the UK Electronic Movement throughout the ‘70s. Initially a three piece, Richard H. Kirk, Stephen Mallinder and Chris Watson began by playing around with recorded sounds manipulated by basic reel-to-reel tape recorders in Sheffield in 1973. Way ahead of their time, these ideas cumulated in 1975, when the three staged their first performance of these sound experiments and assumed the name Cabaret Voltaire, taken from the name of the club started in Zürich by the principals of the Dada art movement during the First World War. As part of the confrontational energy of punk, and inspired by the Dada and Situationist art movements, these early recordings have lost none of their power in the intervening years, especially when the relatively primitive equipment used at that time is considered.

"METHODOLOGY '74-'78. Attic Tapes" is an invaluable insight into how the band evolved prior to and during the punk explosion, and how the music gradually took on a more structured and rhythmic form.

Pitchfork - 8.6

"...a revelatory peak into a crucial electronic group’s embryonic stage, and a key chapter in electronic music’s evolution in the ’70s" - XLR8R

"...a fascinating listen, the sound quality throughout is excellent" - All Music

Side A.

  1. Exhaust
  2. Synthi AKS (Piece One)
  3. Synthi AKS (Piece Two)
  4. Jet Passing Over
  5. Sad Synth
  6. Treated Guitar

Side A.

  1. Treated Clarinet
  2. Treated Drum Machine
  3. Possibility Of A Bum Trip
  4. Space Patrol
  5. Jack Stereo Unit

Side C.

  1. Magnet
  2. Counter Reaction
  3. Capsules (Version)

Side D.

  1. Makes Your Mouth Go Funny
  2. Dream Sequence Number Three (Short Version)
  3. Reverse (Piece One)
  4. Stolen From Spectra

Side E.

  1. Shes Black (Part One)
  2. Jive
  3. The Single
  4. Speed Kills
  5. Fascist Police State

Side F.

  1. Synthi AKS (Piece Three)
  2. Data Processing Instructions
  3. Fuse Mountain
  4. Calling Moscow

Side G.

  1. Dream Sequence Number Two (Ethel's Voice)
  2. The Attic Tapes
  3. Treated Speech

Side H.

  1. Dream Sequence Number Three (Long Version)
  2. Henderson Reversed (Piece Two)

Side I.

  1. Bed Time Stories
  2. Loves In Vein
  3. Do The Mussolini (Head Kick) (They Kill Him Dub)
  4. Shes Black (Part Two)

Side J.

  1. Its Not Music
  2. Slo Change
  3. Original Voice Of America

Side K.

  1. Heaven And Hell
  2. Do The Mussolini (Head Kick)
  3. Here She Comes Now

Side L.

  1. Capsules
  2. Oh Roger
  3. Havoc
  4. Talkover

Side M.

  1. No Escape
  2. Photophobia
  3. The Set Up

Side N.

  1. A Minute Is A Life Time
  2. Baader Meinhof
  3. Nag Nag Nag
  4. Its About Now