hackedepicciotto - Menetekel - Double Vinyl (Signed)


Release Date: 28th April 2023
Catalogue Number: HDP2

  • SIGNED by Alex and Danielle
  • MuteBank purchases come with audio download.

Menetekel, the third studio album from the experimental duo hackedepicciotto, is reissued alongside PERSEVERANTIA and THE CURRENT via Mute.

hackedepicciotto are Alexander Hacke and Danielle de Picciotto. Both are legends of their own making: Danielle the lead singer of the band Space Cowboys and the co-initiator of the Love Parade, and Alexander a founding member of the seminal German group Einstürzende Neubauten, known for working with the likes of Crime & the City Solution (1987 – 1991) and Phew.

Originally released in 2017, Menetekel is a darker album than its predecessor PERSEVERANTIA. The album sees the artistic partnership convert the collective worldwide despair felt at the time into a “monumental symphony of sound, twirling and twisting it into a biblical frenzy”. Side D of the double LP is a sound installation that hackdepicciotto were invited to compose in an archaic church in Austria. Here the two artists sing "the echo depends on where you stand", channelling the philosophical thoughts inspired by architectural influence of the ancient walls, shedding light onto the shadowy depths of modern times.

“The album is their best yet – a wonderful synthesis of two people in love and full of the possibility of music and a resonating, vibrating drone mantra of an album that is full of brooding beauty...” - Louder Than War

Side A.

  1. All Are Welcome
  2. Dreamcatcher
  3. Jericho

Side B.

  1. Nosce te ipsum
  2. Pilgrim
  3. The Long Way Home

Side C.

  1. Prophecy
  2. Crossroad

Side D.

  1. The House of Shadows with the Sound of Light