Barry Adamson - I Will Set You Free + Know Where To Run CD Bundle + Signed Art Card Set


Release Date: 2nd December 2022


This bundle includes:

  • Know Where To Run - CD
  • I Will Set You Free - CD
  • Free set of art 4 cards designed by Mark Reynolds one of which will be signed by Barry Adamson

Know Where To Run - CD

  • Card eco pac

Barry Adamson takes us Back to the Catalogue with a series of reissues on coloured vinyl and CD.

Barry’s 2016 album, Know Where To Run, was produced by Barry himself and recorded in Brighton with Paul Pascoe, whilst WTNSS mixed and provided additional production at the legendary Dean Street Studios. The concept behind the album emerged when Barry started taking photos during a Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds North American tour, playing with the idea of traversing different states of the human condition and different states across America. The result was an audio/visual project inspired by these pictures, with the record being presented alongside a curated photobook.

The reissue of Know Where To Run is released alongside I Will Set Free, following the release of Stranger On The Sofa, Back To The Cat and a very limited run on vinyl of Barry’s latest EP Steal Away.

“It’s brassy, vivid, edgy, dramatic and propulsive – in short, highly cinematic.” - Northern Soul

“The album spans everything from prog rock to psychedelia to crooning, but if there is a thread throughout [Barry’s] work, it’s an outsiderness – documenting desperate characters” - The Guardian

“‘Know Where To Run’ is probably as good an introduction to this peripatetic musician as you're ever likely to need. Just make sure to expect the unexpected.” - Clash Magazine

  1. In Other Worlds
  2. Cine City
  3. Come Away
  4. Death Takes a Holiday
  5. Claw and Wing
  6. In Other Worlds
  7. Cine City
  8. Come Away
  9. Death Takes a Holiday
  10. Claw and Wing

I Will Set You Free - CD

  • Card eco pac

Initially released in 2012, I Will Set You Free amalgamated elements of Barry’s previous work, resulting in an album that is unmistakably Barry Adamson. Like many of Adamson’s records, the album is a genre odyssey that jumps from garage rock rock, to blues, to new-wave pop, with the adventurous brass section injecting an acid jazz touch. His overwhelming desire to examine cultural shifts and embrace them within the quest to improve oneself that often centres in Adamson’s art is clearly present in I Will Set You Free. This subsequently makes it a quintessential Barry Adamson record that fits right in with the back catalogue.

The reissue of I Will Set You Free is released alongside Know Where To Run, following the release of Stranger On The Sofa, Back To The Cat and a very limited run on vinyl of Barry’s latest EP Steal Away.

“Utterly fearless in his exploration of everything from bluesy soul to full-on, swampy psychedelia, Adamson is one of the most fascinating figures in current British rock.” - Express

“He feels comfortable in his skin on this wonderfully sequenced collection of songs that makes no attempt to hide his past; if anything, he celebrates it as he moves ever forward.” - AllMusic

“The cleverness of Adamson’s words shine throughout the album, a potentially self-referential “My kingdom for your Magazine” in “The Sun And The Sea” being a particularly nice touch.” - Pop Matters

  1. Get Your Mind Right
  2. Black Holes in my Brain
  3. Turnaround
  4. The Power of Suggestion
  5. Destination
  6. The Trigger City Blues
  7. Looking to Love Somebody
  8. The Sun and the Sea
  9. If You Love Her
  10. Stand In