Barry Adamson - I Will Set You Free - Limited Edition Curacao Blue Vinyl


Release Date: 2nd December 2022
Catalogue Number: BARRY3

  • Limited Edition Curacao Vinyl
  • Includes audio download code

Barry Adamson takes us Back to the Catalogue with a series of reissues on coloured vinyl and CD.

Initially released in 2012, I Will Set You Free amalgamated elements of Barry’s previous work, resulting in an album that is unmistakably Barry Adamson. Like many of Adamson’s records, the album is a genre odyssey that jumps from garage rock rock, to blues, to new-wave pop, with the adventurous brass section injecting an acid jazz touch. His overwhelming desire to examine cultural shifts and embrace them within the quest to improve oneself that often centres in Adamson’s art is clearly present in I Will Set You Free. This subsequently makes it a quintessential Barry Adamson record that fits right in with the back catalogue.

The reissue of I Will Set You Free is released alongside Know Where To Run, following the release of Stranger On The Sofa, Back To The Cat and a very limited run on vinyl of Barry’s latest EP Steal Away.

“Utterly fearless in his exploration of everything from bluesy soul to full-on, swampy psychedelia, Adamson is one of the most fascinating figures in current British rock.” - Express

“He feels comfortable in his skin on this wonderfully sequenced collection of songs that makes no attempt to hide his past; if anything, he celebrates it as he moves ever forward.” - AllMusic

“The cleverness of Adamson’s words shine throughout the album, a potentially self-referential “My kingdom for your Magazine” in “The Sun And The Sea” being a particularly nice touch.” - Pop Matters

Side A.

  1. Get Your Mind Right
  2. Black Holes in my Brain
  3. Turnaround
  4. The Power of Suggestion
  5. Destination

Side B.

  1. The Trigger City Blues
  2. Looking to Love Somebody
  3. The Sun and the Sea
  4. If You Love Her
  5. Stand In