Cabaret Voltaire - The Covenant, the Sword and the Arm of the Lord - Limited Edition White Vinyl


Catalogue Number: LCABS25
Release Date: 17th June 2022

  • Limited Edition White Vinyl
  • Includes download code

Cabaret Voltaire’s ‘The Covenant, The Sword and The Arm of The Lord’, as originally remastered in 2013, now reissued on White vinyl. Known for being the harder, more experimental album of their “Pop” period, ‘The Covenant, The Sword and The Arm of The Lord’ was originally released in 1985 and includes the classic ‘I Want You’. The album embodys Cabarets Voltaire’s industrial electro-funk sound and their punk ethos, lending its title to American political extremism.

Cabaret Voltaire were very much ahead of their time, harmonising dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental electronics, making them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts in electronic music.

“...The Covenant, the Sword and the Arm of the Lord is an exercise in paranoia with anxiety coded into the jittery sample-heavy structures of the music itself.” - Spectrum Culture

“It's a pacier, funkier album than the 1984 effort, but it also it more abrasive and strange and holds together better...” - The Quietus

This release was agreed with Richard H Kirk prior to his untimely passing and was expected to be available soon after the Shadow of Fear releases had finished, due to vinyl pressing delays it is being released now.

Side A.

  1. L21ST
  2. I Want You
  3. Hells Home
  4. Kickback
  5. The Arm Of The Lord

Side B.

  1. Warm
  2. Golden Halos
  3. Motion Rotation
  4. Whip Blow
  5. The Web