Cabaret Voltaire - The Crackdown - Limited Edition Grey Vinyl


Catalogue Number: LCABS22
Release Date: 17th June 2022

  • Limited Edition Grey Vinyl
  • Includes download code

Cabaret Voltaire’s ‘The Crackdown’, as originally remastered in 2013, now reissued on Grey vinyl. Initially released in 1983, ‘The Crackdown’ was the band’s fourth album, and first after the exit of founding member Chris Watson. The album fuses their earlier experimental records with the electronic dance-funk sound that would become more prominent within their subsequent releases and includes the magnificent haunting single ‘Just Fascination’.

The significance of ‘The Crackdown’ has grown over the decades, also enlisted in NME’s best albums of 1983.

Cabaret Voltaire were very much ahead of their time, harmonising dance music, techno, dub, house and experimental electronics, making them, without a doubt, one of the most influential acts in electronic music.

"...true, unflinching pioneers of electronic music" - Loud & Quiet

"...The Crackdown alone will serve to change some opinions of the Cabs' tenure in the majors." - The Quietus

"One of Cabaret Voltaire's strongest albums..." - All Music

This release was agreed with Richard H Kirk prior to his untimely passing and was expected to be available soon after the Shadow of Fear releases had finished, due to vinyl pressing delays it is being released now.

Side A.

  1. 24-24
  2. In The Shadows
  3. Talking Time
  4. Animation

Side B.

  1. Over And Over
  2. Just Fascination
  3. Why Kill Time (When You Can Kill Yourself)
  4. Haiti
  5. Crackdown