Crime & the City Solution - The Bride Ship - Limited Edition White Vinyl


Release Date: 24th February 2023
Catalogue Number: LSTUMM65

  • Limited Edition White Vinyl
  • 1000 available worldwide
  • Unavailable on vinyl since 1994
  • You will receive a link to download digital WAV files of the album

Crime & the City Solution’s fourth studio album The Bride Ship reissued on white vinyl. This is set to be released alongside Shine and Paradise Discotheque on 27th January, 2023.

A band out of time, Crime and the City Solution were perennial outsiders who could not rest in their native Australia, and instead found inspiration in the colder climes of London and Berlin. Their mesmeric, expressive music evolved through many incarnations and a great deal of adversity. The first incarnation of the band appeared in 1977/78, in the midst of Australia’s nascent punk scene and re-grouped in London in 1984. The later line-up of singer Simon Bonney, Einstürzende Neubauten’s guitarist Alexander Hacke, DAF’s synth player Chrislo Haas, jazz bassist Thomas Stern, violinist Bronwyn Adams and Bad Seed’s Mick Harvey on drums recorded 3 studio albums in quick succession.

Originally released in 1989, The Bride Ship was a creative turn for Crime. Using the sea as the ultimate metaphor for freedom, the album highlighted Bonney’s skill as a lyricist and sense of melody. The crashing guitars and drums propelled a sprawling narrative which concerned itself increasingly with the universal as opposed to the personal.

Side A.

  1. The Shadow Of No Man
  2. The Greater Head
  3. Stone
  4. The Dangling Man

Side B.

  1. Keepsake
  2. The Bride Ship
  3. Free World
  4. New World