Liars - They Threw Us All in a Trench and Stuck a Monument on Top - Limited Edition Recycled Coloured Vinyl


Release Date: 22nd July 2022
Catalogue Number: XBFFP172

  • Limited Edition Recycled Coloured Vinyl

"They Threw Us All In A Trench And Stuck A Monument On Top" is the first instalment of the new Liars reissue series, where every two months an album from the back catalogue will be released on recycled coloured vinyl.

The campaign kicks off with Liars’ debut album, originally released in 2001 and recorded over two days in Brooklyn, New York with producer Steve Revitte (The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion & Beastie Boys). At the time of release Liars were Melbourne born Angus Andrew (vocals & pedals), Aaron Hemphill from LA (guitar & drum machine) and Nebraskians Pat Nature (bass & synthbox) and drummer Ron Albertson.

"There's an angular funk core to the tunes, built around insanely brilliant drumming… and they have the most poetic psychopunk song titles out there - the LP's called "They Threw Us All In A Trench And Stuck A Monument On Top". - NME

"It's vicious, but you can dance to it!". - Pitchfork

Side A.

  1. Grown Men Don't Fall in the River, Just Like That
  2. Mr Your On Fire Mr
  3. Loose Nuts On the Veladrome
  4. The Garden Was Crowded and Outside

Side B.

  1. Tumbling Walls Buried Me in the Debris
  2. Nothing Is Ever Lost or Can Be Lost My Science Friend
  3. We Live NE of Compton
  4. Why Midnight Walked But Didn't Ring Her Bell
  5. This Dust Makes That Mud