Liars - WIXIW - Recycled Colour Vinyl


Release Date: 6th October 2023
Catalogue Number: XSTUMM343

  • Limited Edition Recycled Coloured Vinyl
  • Each pressing is uniquely coloured due to the process and environmentally packaged

WIXIW is the next album to be released in the Liars’ recycled coloured vinyl reissue series.

Initially released in 2012, WIXIW was Liars’ sixth full-length album as a band (Angus Andrew, Aaron Hemphill and Julian Gross). Includes the hit ‘No.1 Against the Rush’, with the emotional video by Todd Cole. WIXIW somehow provided a summation of Liars’ work preceding the record, whilst also providing a complete break from anything that had been heard from the band. Recorded in L.A., the album was self-produced by the band, with additional production from Mute’s Daniel Miller and mixing by Tom Biller. It illustrated an ambiguous, fragile in-between state for Liars, being considered as both their most accessible and most challenging album.

“Really, it’s just fantastic. Blinding. A blinding record from a band who surprise so often it’s pretty much unsurprising.” - The Line of Best (9/10)

“...Liars' dark, largely electronic and sample-based latest album is a return to their adventurous, experimental roots. It's also the group's most human and fragile album to date.” - Pitchfork (7.8/10)

“LA’s supreme rule-breakers have unleashed the unnerving sounds of their lost inner world” - NME (4/5)

The recycled vinyl series so far has seen Liars’ 2001 debut, They Threw Us All in a Trench and Stuck a Monument on Top; their concept album about witchcraft on The Brocken mountains, They Were Wrong, So We Drowned (2004), 2006’s acclaimed follow up, Drum’s Not Dead, 2007’s LA-recorded self-titled fourth album, Liars, and 2010’s Sisterworld.

Side A.

  1. The Exact Colour Of Doubt
  2. Octagon
  3. No.1 Against The Rush
  4. A Ring On Every Finger
  5. Ill Valley Prodigies

Side B.

  1. WIXIW
  2. His And Mine Sensations
  3. Flood To Flood
  4. Who Is The Hunter
  5. Brats
  6. Annual Moon Words