Mick Harvey - Four (Acts of Love) - Limited Edition Clear Vinyl


Release Date: 13th January 2023
Catalogue Number: LSTUMM353

  • Pressed on limited edition clear vinyl
  • 1000 available worldwide

Originally released on 29th April 2013, Mick Harvey’s sixth studio solo album Four (Acts of Love) is being reissued on clear vinyl, alongside 2011’s Sketches From The Book Of The Dead, with Delirium Tremens and Intoxicated Women set to follow in mid 2023.

Four (Acts of Love) is a contemplation on romantic love - its loss, re-awakening, its tumultuous struggle and its place in our universe. The album is a song cycle, divided into 3 Acts, featuring original compositions by Mick Harvey alongside a song by long time collaborator PJ Harvey (Glorious) and interpretations of The Saints’ The Story of Love, Van Morrison’s The Way Young Lovers Do, Exuma’s Summertime in New York and Roy Orbison’s Wild Hearts (Run Out of Time). Recorded at Grace Lane, North Melbourne and Atlantis Sound, Melbourne, Four (Acts of Love) features regular collaborators Rosie Westbrook on double bass and JP Shilo on guitar and violin.

“...Mick Harvey proving himself yet again to have a tender touch when it comes to the delicate business of affairs of the heart” - Pop Matters

“Four is an accessible album, filled with heavy questions about what love really means, posed through sensitive and dramatic arrangements.” - CLASH

Side A.

  1. Praise the Earth (Wheels of Amber and Gold)
  2. Glorious
  3. Midnight on the Ramparts
  4. Summertime in New York
  5. Where There's Smoke (Before)
  6. God Made the Hammer
  7. I Wish That I Were Stone

Side B.

  1. The Way Young Lovers Do
  2. A Drop, An Ocean
  3. The Story of Love
  4. Where There's Smoke (After)
  5. Wild Hearts
  6. Fairy Dust
  7. Praise the Earth (An Ephemeral Play)