Mick Harvey - Waves Of Anzac/The Journey - CD

Mick Harvey - Waves Of Anzac/The Journey - CD


Release Date: 17th April 2020
Catalogue Number: CDSTUMM448

MICK HARVEY will release Waves of Anzac / The Journey, his first soundtrack release in over 10 years on Mute on 3 April 2020.

The album features two recent soundtracks to powerful subject matters recorded by Mick Harvey. The first, Waves of Anzac looks at Sam Neill’s personal family history interwoven with the history of the First World War and the ANZACs through to the modern era while the second, The Journey, is a four-part composition released in support of #KidsOffNauru, a campaign working for the child refugees and people seeking asylum who find themselves in offshore detention.

Waves of Anzac is a 10-track score, created for the ABC documentary on forgotten war stories and lives lost, a personal history by the actor Sam Neill (Jurassic Park, The Piano) set against a contemporary increasingly divided political backdrop. ‘Why Anzac? with Sam Neill’ (Dir. Kriv Stenders, 2015) is named for the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps (ANZAC) who served together in the Gallipoli Campaign, their first engagement in World War I and continued as a military unit until after WW2. The film is a look at this pivotal point in our shared history, and the impact it still has on a personal and on a geopolitical level. Harvey recently examined this period via the prism of a fictional soldier/poet for his collaboration with Christopher Richard Barker, The Fall and Rise of Edgar Bourchier and the Horrors of War.

The Journey is a four-part composition, recorded with The Letter String Quartet, in support of people seeking asylum who have found themselves in Australia’s offshore detention program. The piece was composed as a study of the hardships endured by the detainees on Nauru, Manus Island and Christmas Island before and during their internment and as an expression of hope for a humane outcome to their plight.

Waves of Anzac / The Journey was composed, arranged and produced by Mick Harvey and mastered by Loki Lockwood at Creepy Hollow.

  1. After The Bomb
  2. Turkish Theme
  3. Waves of Anzac
  4. Archives
  5. First Anniversary
  6. The Lovells
  7. The Somme
  8. Poppies
  9. In The Archives
  10. The Cemetery
  11. Modern War
  12. Vietnam
  13. Crete
  14. Back At Kiatora
  15. Waves of Anzac (Reprise)
  16. The Arch
  17. Return to Anzac Cover
  18. 1000 Years On
  19. The Build-Up
  20. The Aftermath
  21. The Ladies Room
  22. The Journey Part 1 - Conflict
  23. The Journey Part 2 - All At Sea
  24. The Journey Part 3 - Capture (Not Real Refugees)
  25. The Journey Part 4 - Hope