Recoil - subHuman - Double Vinyl


Release Date: 15th September 2023
Catalogue Number: STUMM279

  • Double - packaged in a wide spined sleeve with printed inners and lyrics
  • You will receive a link to download digital WAV files of the album on the release date

Recoil is the musical project of former Depeche Mode member, Alan Wilder, and Mute will release the project’s last three albums Liquid, Unsound Methods and subHuman. Originally a solo venture for Alan’s more experimental work outside of Depeche Mode, Recoil became his primary music project after he announced his departure from the band in 1995.

After a 6-year break from recording, Alan Wilder returned with Recoil’s fifth studio album, subHuman. This dark electronic album, which sets the listener a challenge to analyse what makes us human and subHuman, is a collaboration with bluesman Joe Richardson, who Wilder came across via a Google search. Richardson provided guitar, harmonica and eerie vocals dealing with themes of murder, death, and religion. Singer Carla Trevaskis llent her ethereal vocals on ‘Allelujah’.

“A perfect way to reintroduce Recoil back into the consciousness of underground music fans every where.” - Treble

“Subhuman is equally hackneyed and entry-level postmodern, but like the collage, it's skillfully polished and best suited for lovers of dark, incongruous genre blending.” - AllMusic

“subHuman traffics in the thick, surging, hip-hop-inspired beats, sweeping strings, and grandiose arrangements...” - PopMatters

Side A.

  1. Prey 
  2. Allelujah

Side B.

  1. 5000 Years 
  2. The Killing Ground

Side C.

  1. Intruders

Side D.

  1. 99 To Life 
  2. Backslider