Rowland S Howard - Pop Crimes - CD

Rowland S Howard - Pop Crimes - CD


Release Date: 27th March 2020
Catalogue Number: RSH2CD

Newly remastered by Lindsay Gravina, Rowland S. Howard's debut 1999 album Teenage Snuff Film - highly sought after by collectors - will be released on double vinyl (with one side etched), CD and digital along with 2009’s Pop Crimes, Howard’s final album release, available on vinyl, CD and digitally.

Teenage Snuff Film, was recorded at the Birdland and Sing Sing recording studios in Melbourne with longtime colleague and collaborator Mick Harvey contributing drums, organ and guitar and Brian Hooper on bass. The album was produced by Lindsay Gravina and engineered by James Mason and Jade Martin, and released to acclaim. Rowland S. Howard passed away on December 30, 2009, from liver cancer, only a few months the release of Pop Crimes. The album, recorded with Mick Harvey and JP Shilo, also features Brian Hooper and on ‘(I Know) A Girl Called Jonny’, the collaboration with Jonnine Standish and Sean Stewart (HTRK)

A vital presence on Australia’s post-punk scene, Rowland S. Howard created his own emotionally intense sonic language, first with Young Charlatans, then alongside Nick Cave and Mick Harvey in The Boys Next Door and The Birthday Party, and, after they disbanded 1983, with These Immortal Souls and Crime & the City Solution.

  1. (I Know) A Girl Called Jonny
  2. Shut Me Down
  3. Life's What You Make It
  4. Pop Crimes
  5. Nothin
  6. Wayward Man
  7. Ave Maria
  8. The Golden Age of Bloodshed