The Pop Group - Y - CD

The Pop Group - Y - CD


Catalogue Number: TPGYCD1
Release Date: 1st November 2019

Y is the highly influential and innovative debut album by The Pop Group, released in 1979. In the same year The Pop Group released their single She is Beyond Good & Evil / 3:38.

  1. Thief Of Fire (Remastered)
  2. Snowgirl (Remastered)
  3. Blood Money (Remastered)
  4. Savage Sea (Remastered)
  5. We Are Time (Remastered)
  6. Words Disobey Me (Remastered)
  7. Don't Call Me Pain (Remastered)
  8. Boys From Brazil (Remastered)
  9. Don't Sell Your Dreams (Remastered)
  10. She Is Beyond Good And Evil (Remastered)
  11. 3:38 (Remastered)

The band went on to release 2 further singles, We Are All Prostitutes and Where There Is A Will (Split single with the Slits) and 1 further studio album For How Much Do We Tolerate Mass Murder, before splitting up in 1981.

Frontman, Mark Stewart embarked on a solo career releasing his pioneering album Learning To Live With Cowardice in 1983. Gareth Sager and Bruce Smith went on to form Rip Rig & Panic alongside Neneh Cherry.

The Pop Group reformed in 2010 to tour and have since released 2 new studio albums.

The band will be touring at the end of 2019 and throughout 2020 in support of the album release.

"This is a record of dire necessity, armed for combat against a long litany of ills—none more than typicality." - Pitchfork, Top 100 Albums of the 1970s (#35)

"A maelstrom of dub and distortion effects, a tempest of extremes… Rage, terror, anguish, all hurtle past and round you: time and space feel violently mutable. Digital technology may have made all the cut-and-paste herein easy, but it's never produced so deliriously, maddeningly protean a piece of music." - Wire, 100 Most Important Records Ever Made

"The Pop Group were unique in that every song on their hugely influential album Y seemed like it could fall apart at any moment, but even in their loosest moments they somehow managed to contain the turmoil long enough to create something bold, dramatic, meticulously organized" - Pop Matters, Top 50 Best Post-Punk Albums Ever

"Y sounded incandescent, incendiary; as if the relics of rock were being melted before our very ears…years have done nothing to lessen the sheer weirdness of Y. In fact, time has only intensified its bizarreness. In the destranged world of today’s ‘alternative’ rock, the album sounds more impossible than ever…Joy Division’s Closer is often considered the crown jewel of post-punk, but Y – inchoate with potential, the fire to Joy Division’s ice – has an equal claim." - Mark Fisher, FACT Magazine