The Pop Group - Y Live- Vinyl

The Pop Group - Y Live- Vinyl


Catalogue Number: TPGYL1
Release Date: 20th March 2020

Single vinyl edition – includes original tour poster

The Y Live album is an essential addendum to the original release, one that captures all the fierce urgency of The Pop Group’s live performances at the time. Comprised of Y era recordings captured at a variety of locations including New York, Manchester & Brussels – the latter on a bill with William Burroughs and Joy Division – Y Live exemplifies what had proved so thrilling about The Pop Group. A snapshot of a time when the group were sharing stages with future acolytes including Cabaret Voltaire, Linton Kwesi Johnson & Public Image Ltd, Mark Stewart describes the recordings as attempts to ‘paint the impossible’.

Mark Stewart from the band embarked on a solo career releasing his pioneering album Learning To Live With Cowardice in 1983. Gareth Sager and Bruce Smith went on to form Rip Rig & Panic alongside Neneh Cherry.

The Pop Group reformed in 2010 to tour and have since released 2 new studio albums.

The band will be touring in 2020.

Side A.

  1. Thief Of Fire (Live)
  2. Snowgirl (Live)
  3. Blood Money (Live)
  4. Savage Sea (Live)
  5. We Are Time (Live)

Side B.

  1. Words Disobey Me (Live)
  2. Don't Call Me Pain (Live)
  3. Boys From Brazil (Live)
  4. Don't Sell Your Dreams (Live)