Desire Marea - On the Romance of Being - Double Vinyl with Etching


Release Date: 7th April 2023
Catalogue Number: STUMM477

  • Pressed on double vinyl with etching on side D. Artwork by Athi-Patra Ruga
  • Includes 8 page booklet

The Amandawe, South Africa-based artist Desire Marea returns with his transformative second album, On the Romance of Being.

Immersed in the communal, ceremonial and healing qualities of music, this record is the next epoch from the multidisciplinary artist and follows his acclaimed solo eponymous debut. Recorded live with an ensemble of 13 musicians, On the Romance of Being consists of 8 movements that sonically sprawl across post-gospel, spiritual jazz, black classical and the ancient music of the Nguni and Ndau peoples and elicits a sincere conversation between the erotic and spiritual.

Available on double vinyl and CD with artwork by Athi-Patra Ruga.

Side A.

  1. Ezulwini
  2. Be Free
  3. Makhukhu

Side B.

  1. Mfula
  2. Arrival
  3. Rah (feat. Zoë Modiga)

Side C.

  1. Skhathi
  2. Banzi