hackedepicciotto - THE CURRENT - CD


Release Date: 28th April 2023
Catalogue Number: HDP3CD

  • Eco card pack

THE CURRENT, the fourth studio album from the experimental duo hackedepicciotto, is reissued alongside PERSEVERANTIA and Menetekel via Mute.

hackedepicciotto are married couple Alexander Hacke and Danielle de Picciotto. Both are legends of their own making: Danielle the lead singer of the band Space Cowboys and the co-initiator of the Love Parade, and Alexander a founding member of the seminal German group Einstürzende Neubauten, known for working with the likes of Crime & the City Solution (1987 – 1991) and Phew.

Originally released in 2020, THE CURRENT sees hackedepicciotto gaining speed and energy from their previous albums, with the band expressing “we had the urge to include more percussive elements and electronic sounds to create a powerful rhythmic feel. A wilder and more danceable element. Something to get all of us on our feet, and moving. Away from depression and hopelessness.” Beautiful violin harmonies and choirs can be heard throughout the entire record, creating the perfect soundtrack for what the band describe as “an apocalyptic feature-length film, hopefully with a happy ending.”

“...the pair exhibits a vibrant energy that invites repeated listens to discover new elements in the dense mix, and to get lost in the expanse of a desolate world in need of hopeful souls to repopulate it.” - Regen Magazine

“Blending rusted industrial ambience, doom folk and post rock with the odd dash of spaghetti western soundtrack THE CURRENT is an unusual and intriguing record” - Echoes and Dust

  1. Defiance
  2. Onwards
  3. Metal Hell
  4. The Current
  5. Petty Silver
  6. The Banishing
  7. Third From The Sun
  8. Lorelei
  9. The Seventh Day
  10. Upon Departure
  11. The Black Pool