Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - B-Sides & Rarities: Part I & II - Deluxe 7LP Box Set


Release Date: 22nd October 2021

  • 7 x LP on 180gm black vinyl
  • Exclusive sleeve notes by Sean O'Hagan

Following on from the successful ‘An Idiot Prayer’ live album and livestream event released this year, Nick Cave Productions & BMG announce B-SIDES & RARITIES PART I & II to be released internationally on 22nd October 2021.

B-SIDES & RARITIES PART I & II contains material from Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds’ 30-plus year career. This collection features 83 tracks across 7 x 180g LPs housed in a deluxe case bound slipcase with foiling, featuring exclusive photographs and sleeve notes written by Sean O’Hagan (The Guardian & The Observer).

This is the first time Part I, compiled by Mick Harvey and originally released in 2005, has been made available on vinyl. It comprises 56 tracks including rarities, out-takes, covers & B-sides from 1988-2005.

Part II, compiled by Nick Cave & Warren Ellis and features 27 tracks from Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! in 2006 to 2019’s Ghosteen. Including 19 rare and unreleased tracks including first recordings of ‘Skeleton Tree’, ‘Girl in Amber’, ‘Bright Horses’ and ‘Waiting for You’.

Part I: LP1

Side A.

  1. Deanna (Acoustic Version)
  2. The Mercy Seat (Acoustic Version)
  3. City of Refuge (Acoustic Version)
  4. The Moon Is in the Gutter
  5. The Six Strings That Drew Blood
  6. Rye Whiskey
  7. Running Scared

Side B.

  1. Black Betty
  2. Scum
  3. The Girl at the Bottom of My Glass
  4. The Train Song
  5. Cocks 'n' Asses
  6. Blue Bird

Part I: LP2

Side A.

  1. Helpless
  2. God's Hotel
  3. (I'll Love You) Till the End of the World
  4. Cassiel's Song
  5. Tower of Song
  6. Rye Whiskey

Side B.

  1. What Can I Give You?
  2. What a Wonderful World
  3. Rainy Night In Soho
  4. Lucy (Version #2)
  5. Jack the Ripper (Acoustic Version)

Part I: LP3

Side A.

  1. The Ballad of Robert Moore and Betty Coltrane
  2. The Willow Garden
  3. King Kong Kitchee Kitchee Ki-Mi-O
  4. Knoxville Girl
  5. There's No Night Out in the Jail
  6. That's What Jazz Is to Me

Side B.

  1. Where the Wild Roses Grow
  2. O'Malley's Bar Pt. 1
  3. O'Malley's Bar Pt. 2
  4. O'Malley's Bar Pt. 3
  5. O'Malley's Bar Reprise

Part I: LP4

Side A.

  1. Red Right Hand
  2. Time Jesum Transeuntum Et Non Riverentum
  3. Little Empty Boat
  4. Right Now I'm A-Roaming

Side B.

  1. Come Into My Sleep
  2. Black Hair
  3. Babe, I Got You Bad
  4. Sheep May Safely Graze
  5. Opium Tea

Part I: LP5

Side A.

  1. Grief Came Riding
  2. Bless His Ever Loving Heart
  3. Good Good Day
  4. Little Janey's Gone
  5. I Feel So Good
  6. Shoot Me Down

Side B.

  1. Swing Low
  2. Little Ghost Song
  3. Everything Must Converge
  4. Nocturama
  5. She's Leaving You
  6. Under This Moon

Part II: LP6

Side A.

  1. Hey Little Firing Squad
  2. Fleeting Love
  3. Accidents Will Happen
  4. Free To Walk (With Debbie Harry)
  5. Avalanche*
  6. Vortex*

Side B.

  1. Needle Boy
  2. Lightning Bolts
  3. Animal X
  4. Give Us a Kiss
  5. Push The Sky Away (Live with The Melbourne Symphony Orchestra)*

Part II: LP7

Side A.

  1. First Skeleton Tree*
  2. King Sized Nick Cave Blues*
  3. Opium Eyes*
  4. Big Dream (With Sky)*
  5. Instrumental #33*
  6. Hell Villanelle*
  7. Euthanasia*
  8. Life Per Se*

Side B.

  1. Steve McQueen*
  2. First Bright Horses*
  3. First Girl in Amber*
  4. Glacier*
  5. Heart that Kills You*
  6. First Waiting for You*
  7. Sudden Song*
  8. Earthlings*

*previously unreleased

Does not include a download code.

This is a BMG release.