Yann Tiersen - Skyline - CD

Yann Tiersen - Skyline - CD


Catalogue Number: CDSTUMM337
Release Date: 17 October 2011

''life-affirming'' - MOJO 4*

''...remarkable musical talent'' - CLASH 7*

''euphoric'' - DROWNED IN SOUND

Skyline is Yann Tiersen's seventh studio album, and sees Tiersen taking a confident step forward, cementing the sound of its darker sister, the critically acclaimed Dust Lane, which was released almost exactly 12 months previously.

Says Tiersen, ''Strangely while Skyline musically comes across as lighter and happier than Dust Lane the subject matter is somewhat darker - there is certainly a sense of moving on and what thoughts are left having dealt with loss''.

Skyline was recorded between Paris, San Francisco & and Ouessant a tiny island off the coast of West Britanny and mixed by Ken Thomas (Sigur Ros, M83, David Bowie, Psychic TV). As always the music stems from Tiersen, whose long periods of recording alone are broken with spells with input from a cast of musicians. An array of vintage synths add billowing, analogue textures, electric guitars and bass bring layers of fuzz and distortion. Songs slip from their moorings, take off on new and unexpected currents.''My plan was also to play with contrast between electric and quite dense parts and more sober and minimal quiet parts including piano and strings,'' he adds. So, voices join together in chorus, arcing violins and crashing drums build towards mighty fanfares – but then, clouds part, squall recedes to silence, and mournful piano and strings guide you home.

  1. Another Shore 
  2. I'm Gonna Live Anyhow 
  3. Monuments 
  4. The Gutter 
  5. Exit 25 Block 20 
  6. Hesitation Wound 
  7. Forgive Me 
  8. The Trial 
  9. Vanishing Point